Thursday, April 5, 2012

[Guest Post] A World Without Books by Brooklyn Hudson

A WORLD WITHOUT BOOKS
GUEST POST BY
BROOKLYN HUDSON

A world without books … will probably (hopefully) never be. There will always be lovers of hard copy books just as we will always have art lovers. I own an iPad, iPhone, Kindle, you name it; but nothing takes the place of the smell and feel of a book in your hands – especially a used, worn book. Nowadays I download books to my e-readers but the books I fall in love with I then buy in print form to keep on my shelf. I think schools need to push reading more, like they did when I was a kid. I ask children I meet about reading and sadly, some of them tell me their teachers don’t encourage a love of reading…that scares me a little.
ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Brooklyn Hudson was born and raised in New York City's borough of Staten Island. She currently resides in Los Angeles where she produces The Springsteen Experience, a theatrical concert event; she is a replica-rock (tribute show) concert promoter and band manager, and has been writing fiction since she was old enough to hold a pencil. She credits Stephen King for her devout adoration of adult dramatic horror and is currently fast at work on the WISHBONE screen adaption and WISHBONE Part II.


Connect with Brooklyn Hudon on Twitter & Facebook
Check out where this author will be talking about her latest release!

ABOUT WISHBONE




A Manhattan power couple survive a tragedy and attempt a fresh start only to be plagued by unexplained and disastrous occurrences...be careful what you wish for.

At the age of nine, growing up in the French countryside, Julien Grenier witnessed the brutal murder of his grandfather. Now, at forty-five, he continues to be plagued by horrific nightmares and reenactments of that tragic event.


Living a successful though austere lifestyle on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, Julien has recreated himself, building emotional walls that even his young wife cannot penetrate.

Though somewhat moody, Julien is a good man with a heart of gold, and a great sense of loyalty and responsibility; enabling his wife, Rachael, to turn a blind eye to his tightly-kept secrets.

Rachael is thirty-two years old; an art dealer and playful free spirit, but after a home invasion assault leaves her emotionally unstable and destroys their care-free and content world, they relocate to a safer environment with the hope of a fresh start.

Kings Hollow is a quaint town, nestled in the serene Catskill Mountains of upstate New York. At first, their new home appears to be the miracle they prayed for, until a traditional children's game begins to destroy their bliss; Rachael is no longer herself and Julien is experiencing a string of bad luck and unfortunate accidents.

At the center of it all is seventeen-year-old Sarah, a part-time caretaker on the property.

Can Julien and Rachael escape the nightmare of Kings Hollow...or is this just Wishful thinking?

WISHBONE is a multi-layered thriller incorporating several sub-plots; in the vein of Pet Sematary, What Lies Beneath, Misery and Stir of Echoes. Dramatic horror at its best, Brooklyn Hudson takes you on a suspenseful roller coaster ride of emotional turmoil and shocking events.
Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre - Supernatural Thriller
Rating - R

5 comments:

  1. I completely agree. Children don't read that much these days... But I remember when I was a kid, well, I did read. Then I kind of stopped. And last year I started again. The problem in my country is, that kids are forced to read books in school, that are OMG so so boring. Believe me. Slovenian authors in history were all drunks and they all had the unrequited love and then they started drinking and writing. OR they had mommy issues and they were writing how misrable they were because of that. It sucks. And I think, this is why they hate reading a priori. Thank god, I've found some awesome book blogger that reminded me, that there WERE great books to be read! :) :) My teachers didn't do a good job. Well, actually they did a terrible one.

    Great post!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for the awesome comment Nea! I have to agree, children doesn't read much these days because of other forms of media. Facebook for example is one media that lets you be updated of what people are doing. I say it hinders people to focus on things that they should have been doing which is to read. One of the goals why I opened this blog is because I'm a reader myself and I'm an advocate of reading. I want to share my thoughts on books and share them what reading could mean.

      Like you I also stopped and recently got back because of a friend. I can remember my first YA book and that would be Harry Potter. I can say that I was influence greatly by my bibliophile classmate plus the popularity of the novel. I did read Twilight tho but haven't got a chance to finish the series.

      I'm glad your back from reading! Keep it up and spread the love of reading to others. Reading should be a privilege and not hinder by any means.

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Jay~

      Delete
  2. I agree, kids need to read more! Great post AND blog, new follower!

    Follow mine? www.tumblingbooks.com

    Thanks,
    Nancy

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for dropping by Nancy!

      Lets spread the love of reading in our own little way :)

      Jay~

      Delete
  3. I hate to say it, but the schools need to let go of the "classics" and allow kids to read what they enjoy. If they develop a love of reading early they will eventually CHOOSE TO read many of those classics later in life. Forcing books that are based on old fashioned ideals, imagery, and themes bores them and turns them off to reading altogether. Let them choose their books for reports, be it Stephen King, Suzanne Collins, or S.E. Hinton...reading is reading and a report on any book in any genre will show comprehension. I think it would be more interesting for the teachers as well.

    ReplyDelete

We love comments! Feel free to express what you feel.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...